House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) has chosen the five Republicans he wants on the 1/6 Select Committee to investigate the Capitol insurrection, and Americans do not approve.

Republicans have been resisting pressure to support a probe of the events of January 6th when Trump supporters violently stormed the Capitol in an attempt to overthrow democracy, perhaps because some Republican lawmakers were involved in the planning or at least aided the insurrectionists.

The GOP’s refusal to support a bipartisan independent commission blew up in their faces last month as House Democrats voted to create a select committee that Republicans will have significantly less power on.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) has already selected the Democratic members and one Republican, Rep. Liz Cheney (R-Wyoming), to serve in the first eight seats on the committee. After much speculation, McCarthy has now chosen the five Republicans.

To his credit, McCarthy avoided picking Reps. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.), Lauren Boebert (R-Co.), and Matt Gaetz (R-Fla.), but some of the Republicans he did pick are not much better.

In fact, three of those Republicans— Banks, Jordan, and Nehls— voted against certifying the 2020 Election results. Armstrong and Davis actually did their job by accepting reality.

Needless to say, McCarthy clearly picked Republicans who will try to turn the committee into a circus and will suck up to and defend Donald Trump while denying the facts of what happened on January 6th.

Thankfully, Pelosi has the ability to veto McCarthy’s picks, and that could mean Jordan and Banks are out, especially since Banks had the gall to blame Pelosi for the insurrection in a statement released after being selected.

Needless to say, Americans certainly are not impressed, and they made that known on Twitter.

On Pelosi’s part, she appeared poised to make her decision soon.

Featured Image: Screenshot